墨尔本购物指南

墨尔本是购物之都,有些游客可能会告诉你,他们的墨尔本之旅最好的部分是购物。

除了最好的本地设计生产的产品外,世界著名的国际产品也会在墨尔本的购物区让你一饱眼福。

如果你喜欢购物,确实你可以花很多时间,穿梭在墨尔本的商场和购物中心。

但是,墨尔本是一个很大的城市,为了认你要优化购物的时间,我想给你一个墨尔本购物指南。

本指南将告诉你,我最喜欢的购物场所,如何到达那里,你在那儿会发现什么。

礼品及纪念品

在澳洲买什么礼物?

大家期望从澳大利亚带回去一些纪念品来与家人和朋友分享。

您可以去维多利亚女王市场 Victoria Market,或在市中心的纪念品商店、在史旺斯顿街Swanston street 或伊丽莎白街 Elizabeth street  的纪念品商店 中可以购买大部分的旅游纪念品。你会在这些地方发现大量的:  

  • 印有原住民艺术或澳大利亚的动物的漂亮的T恤
  • 玩具袋鼠、考拉总是很受孩子欢迎
  • 您还可以找到那些典型的澳大利亚路标,像“在200公里之前最后的厕所”或“前方5公里袋鼠过境”,等(其实如果你能环游澳洲,更加有趣的是你用自己的相机,拍下这些记录你行程的特殊路标﹚。

看看这个我拍摄的,提请您注意有食火鸡穿越的有趣路标

不平常的礼物

如果你想要个不平常的纪念品,我建议去以下地方:   

  • Melbournalia 出售本地制造的礼品和纪念品,从书本和家居用品到针织服装和装饰品摆设。
  • 墨尔本格Lumbi使用摄影和数字化设计,生产独特的产品展示墨尔本市的主要部分。
  • ButtonWorks专门用木材、纸、丙烯酸树脂、织物及其他本地采购的材料设计制造的钮扣,纪念品和现代工艺礼品,珠宝和家居用品。

看看这个漂亮的木制拼图,它是我儿子得到的礼品,拼图是ButtonWorks澳大利亚的动物图形。

真正澳大利亚本土产品的精华

如果你想获得真正的来自澳大利亚的特别礼物,那么可以考虑购买下面的产品:      

  • 澳大利亚葡萄酒是世界闻名的。。千万不要错失机会,花一两天时间,去美丽的亚拉河谷地区 Yarra Valley,参观一些最好的澳大利亚酒庄来选择自己喜欢的酒
  • 您也可以购买一些100 %澳洲羊皮靴 Ugg Boots . 你知道不知道,在澳大利亚以外,大部分的Ugg Boots 是由美国公司(德克斯户外公司{德克斯} )在中国制造的!
  • 一个漂亮精美的澳宝 Opal 珠宝可能是你的完美礼物。澳宝是一种罕见的宝石,大约90 %的世界珍贵的澳宝来自澳大利亚。天然澳宝可以是非常有价值的,有不同类型的澳宝(浅色澳宝,黑澳宝或巨石澳宝) 。昆士兰 Queensland 的巨石澳宝 - 浅色澳宝是在南澳大利亚 South Australia,黑澳宝在新南威尔士州 New South Wales 发现,尤其是闪电山脊 Lightning Ridge。如果你认为天然澳宝价格太贵,你可以找到一些用天然澳宝和人造澳宝结合的三层或双层的精致珠宝,是用天然澳宝贴面和人造澳宝的组合制造。

美丽的巨石澳宝吊坠:我丈夫送我的一个精美的礼物

墨尔本购物中心

1 )在市区伯克街 Bourke Street 有一条步行街,那里有很多名牌店,像迈尔斯 Myers和大卫琼斯 David Jones,Zara。

如果您正在寻找高端的服装和饰品,那么你可以在这里花一天时间来逛逛。 在圣诞节时,迈尔斯商店的窗口绝对是最美丽的。

大卫琼斯圣诞节日游行

2 ) 在市区柯林斯街 Collins Street 东端你仿佛来到了巴黎,几乎所有著名的法国品牌香奈儿 Chanel, 阿玛尼Giorgio Armani和路易威登 Louis Vuitton 等在这里应有尽有。

所以,如果你有一个从分的资金,你可以在这里有一个像“朱莉娅罗伯特 Julia Roberts 在风月俏佳人电影”中的疯狂购物。

3 )Chapel Street 街 和South Yarra有大量的好商店。这条街的开始是有一些放荡不羁的风格的二手店。然后你越向街的另一端行进,你越会被澳大利亚特有的设计师所 设计的精品包围。不管你在找什么,你会在这里找到它。幸运的是,这里有各种美食、餐馆、咖啡馆等可以使你在购物行走体乏时坐下来休息

4 )菲茨罗伊 Fitzroy:如果你喜欢古色古香的物品,那么菲茨罗伊的布朗斯维克街 Brunswick Street 和史密斯街 Smith Street 是一个不错的去处。别错过参观,只有周末开放的玫瑰街艺术市场,这里的珠宝是精工 巧匠们的手工制作品。

5 )Chadstone 购物中心:位于马尔文东Malvern East在市区东南19公里处,你会发现南半球最大的购物中心。

在中心你将不会有任何妨碍的游逛,唯一要提醒你的是,你需要开车或坐公共汽车,因为没有一列火车 会停靠购物中心的旁边。 就个人而言,我会尽量避免在周末去Chadstone购物中心,因为人太多了。它是如此巨大,每次我去那里,都觉得有点失落。我宁可选择在市区的大街小巷或墨尔本的形形色色的市场内漫步。

鲜为人知的精品

1 )对于过去一直住在欧洲和亚洲的我,在墨尔本一开始,我认为很难找到具有合理价格的国际设计师的品牌。

但现在,我已经发现了一些鲜为人知的精品店,比如说在 Moonee Ponds 有个可爱的店叫纽约槽 New York Groove (121 Puckle St) 。他们库存的著名设计师品牌经常会有打折的价格。这是一个有很多超值物品的精品店。

2 )对于忙碌的妈妈们,我建议去2个Purebaby品牌的批发处之一,他们是在科林伍德 Collingwood 或穆拉宾Moorabbin 。千万不要错过他们最高达70%的大降价。

3 )对于那些喜欢在网上购物的淘宝者,Ozsale.com.au是一个“金矿” 。您可以在购买女装、男装、童装的时装和配饰上节省一笔个数目可观的开销。

4)其他大品牌的儿童服装,比如新西兰品牌“南瓜补丁" Pumkin patch。当然,有了互联网,就没有必要前往新西兰享受他们的产品和eSale项目了。

免税店

1 )如果你要离开澳洲,你可以对自己购买的物品要求退税,最好的办法就是使用游客退税计划(TRS ) 。

这可以让你购物后,在机场退10%的税。

要求退税,您必须:

  • 在单店购物,满$ 300以上(含消费税)
  • 购买商品到离开澳洲不超过60天
  • 退税货物随身携带,到TRS机构出示您的税务发票,护照和登机牌。
  • 退税仅适用于,您的航班预计起飞30分钟前

2 )如果你喜欢在免税的商店购物,然后把你购买的东西放在你的托运行李里。你可以去JR Duty Free shop 免税店在185 Swanston Street。 这里价格你会发现和墨尔本机场免税店差不多。

› 墨尔本购物指南

[?]Subscribe To This Site
  • XML RSS
  • follow us in feedly
  • Add to My Yahoo!
  • Add to My MSN
  • Subscribe with Bloglines


Subscribe to the free email newsletter "Tell Me More" to receive the latest news from MelbourneGems

Enter Your E-mail Address
Enter Your First Name (optional)
Then

Don't worry — your e-mail address is totally secure.
I promise to use it only to send you Tell Me More.

Time in Melbourne Australia

Shopping Melbourne
Where to go and What you'll find

Some tourists may tell you that the best part of their Melbourne trip is the Shopping. 

And I cannot disagree with them because from locally-designed originals to the best of international brands you'll be spoilt for choice in Melbourne's shopping precincts.

You can spend a lot of time to explore the arcades and shopping centres of Melbourne if you love shopping.

But Melbourne is a big city so to allow you to optimise your time I want to propose this Shopping Melbourne Guide.

This guide will tell you my favourites places to shop, how to get there and what you'll find.

Gifts and Souvenirs

What to bring from Australia?

You can buy most of the tourist souvenir at Queen Victoria Market or in one of the souvenir shops in the CBD at Swanston street or Elizabeth street. You will find at these places plenty of:

  • Nice T-shirt with aboriginal art or Australian animals
  • Toy Kangaroo or Koala are always popular with children
  • You can also get some of those typical Australian road signs like "Last dunny before 200km" or "Kangaroo crossing for 5km" (It is even more fun if you could travel around Australia and make a photo frame with the most original ones yourself)

Check out this one I photographed near Cape Tribulation to draw your attention for Cassowary crossing

Far North Queensland Cassowary sign

An original gift

If you are looking for something different in term of souvenir I would suggest the following places:

  • Melbournalia sell locally made gifts and souvenirs, from books and homewares to knitwear and knick knacks.
  • The Melbourne Shop by Lumbi uses a combination of photography and digital design to produce unique products showcasing the City of Melbourne.
  • ButtonWorks specialise in making buttons, souvenirs and contemporary gifts, jewellery and homeware designs using timber, paper, acrylics, fabrics and other locally sourced materials.

See this nice wooden puzzle with Australian animals from ButtonWorks that my son had one year

ButtonWorks puzzle

Something Really Aussie

If you want to bring a special gift from Australia then the following items could be a great idea:

  • Australian wines are worldwide famous and are usually very appreciated. Do not miss the opportunity to spend a day or two in the lovely Yarra Valley region to visit some of the best Australian wineries and choose your favourite wine yourself.
  • You can also buy some 100% Australian made sheepskin Ugg boots in Melbourne. Do you know that most of the Ugg shoes that you can find outside of Australia are sold buy the American company (Deckers Outdoor Corporation {Deckers}) and are made in China!
  • A nice opal jewellery could be the perfect gift for your love one. Opal is a rare gemstone and around 90% of the world's precious opal comes from Australia. The natural Opal can be extremely valuable, there are different types of Opal. (Light Opal, Black Opal or Boulder Opal). Most light opal is found in South Australia, black opal in New South Wales - especially Lightning Ridge, and boulder opal in Queensland. If the natural Opal is too expensive for you, you can find some great Triplets or Doublets Opals. Triplets and doublets are a combination of natural opals and artificial veneers.

Beautiful Boulder Opal pendant

Melbourne Shopping Centres

1) At the Bourke Street in the city there is a pedestrian only section of Bourke Street full of all the big name stores like Myers and David Jones, Zara. If you are looking for up-market clothing and trinkets, then this is one of the spots you want to spend a day wandering through.

There are often a lot of events organised here during Christmas or other Melbourne festivals. The Myers windows for Christmas are absolutely beautiful for children.

David Jones Christmas Parade

Bourke Street Parade

2) "Paris End" at Collins Street. The eastern end of Collins street in the city have all the high end shops with Chanel, Giorgio Armani and Louis Vuitton. So if you have an limitless American Express card and you would like to have a shopping session like "Julia Robert in Pretty Woman", then this is the place to go in Melbourne.

3) Chapel Street in South Yarra is an original place to go with plenty of shops. The beginning of the street is a little bit "Bohemia" with some second-hand shops. Then the more you head to the other end of the street the more you will be surrounded by exclusive Australian designers. No matter what it is you are looking for, you will find it here. Luckily, there are just as many eateries to sit and regenerate in between bursts of shopping.

4) Fitzroy: If you like vintage shopping then Brunswick Street and Smith Street in Fitzroy is a good place to go. If you’re visiting over a weekend then visit the Rose Street Artist Markets for handmade jewellery.

5) Chadstone Shopping Centre: 19 km from the city located in the inner south-eastern suburb of Malvern East you will find the biggest shopping centre in the Southern Hemisphere. It’s a pretty good one-stop shop, particularly if you want to browse through the likes of Tiffany, Chanel, Gucci etc. Perfect for a bad weather day too”.You need to either drive or catch a bus because there is not a train stop next to the shopping centre.

Personally, I try to avoid to go to Chadstone Shopping Centre during the weekend because it can get very crowded. It is so huge that I feel a bit lost each time I have to go here. I rather prefer have a stroll within the lanes and arcades or one of the fantastic Melbourne markets.

The hidden gems

1) For someone like me who lived in Europe and Asia before I thought at the beginning that it was hard to find international designer label at a reasonable price in Melbourne. Then by living in Melbourne I have discovered some hidden gems like this lovely store in Moonee Ponds called New York Groove (121 Puckle St). They stock designer brands all at discounted prices. This is a boutique shop with a lot of beautiful items. 

2) For the busy mums I would suggest to go to the one of the 2 Purebaby Warehouses either in Collingwood or in
Moorabbin. If you are in their mailing list do not miss their warehouse sale with heavily reduced price up to 70%.

3) For those who like the online shopping Ozsale.com.au is a "goldmine". You can do a lot of savings on ladies, men's and children's fashion and accessories.

4) Other great brand for children clothes is the New Zealand brand "Pumkin patch". Of course with internet no need to travel to New Zealand to enjoy their products and their eSale items.

Duty Free

1) If you are leaving Australia and you want to claim tax refund on goods the best way is use the The Tourist Refund Scheme (TRS).

This allows you to shop anywhere you want and have the 10% tax refund at airport.

To claim a refund you must:

  • Spend $300 or more (including GST) in a single store
  • Buy goods no more than 60 days before departure
  • Wear or carry the goods on board and present them along with your tax invoice, passport and boarding pass to a TRS facility
  • Claims are only available up to 30 minutes prior to the scheduled departure of your flight

2) If you prefer to shop in a duty free shop in advance and pack your goods in your checked-in luggage then you can go to the JR Duty Free shop at 185 Swanston Street.Their prices are similar to what you will find in Melbourne airport duty free shops. You need to have your passport and your flight ticket when you purchase something in this shop.

› Melbourne Shopping

New! Comments

Have your say about what you just read! Leave me a comment in the box below.
[?]Subscribe To This Site
  • XML RSS
  • follow us in feedly
  • Add to My Yahoo!
  • Add to My MSN
  • Subscribe with Bloglines


Subscribe to the free email newsletter "Tell Me More" to receive the latest news from MelbourneGems

Enter Your E-mail Address
Enter Your First Name (optional)
Then

Don't worry — your e-mail address is totally secure.
I promise to use it only to send you Tell Me More.

Time in Melbourne Australia